Heritage

Imperia Automobiles, a past with a rich future

As new as it is, the Imperia Automobiles brand already has a prestigious past. Developed at Green Propulsion, Imperia Automobiles is reviving the name of a company both famous and Liege-based, which was at the height of its success in the 1st half of the 20th century, and is identifying itself with this prestigious heritage.

Connoisseurs of cars, aficionados of mechanical sports and those nostalgic for a local industrial past will be responsive to our desire to put some shine back into the glorious image of what remains of the last make of Belgian cars.

Imperia. It’s in the blood.

Between 1900 and 1950, Imperia wrote one of the finest pages in the history of the Belgian automotive industry. The brand experienced both commercial and sporting success. Its flattering sales were accompanied by convincing success in different international competitions on road or circuit. Its connection with Minerva, another Belgian make, also enabled it to occupy the prestige cars niche with models that were the benchmark of elegance and distinction.

Innovation as a trademark

With its own circuit on top of its Nessonvaux plant, Imperia Mark 1 showed boldness and innovation during the 50 years of its epic existence. Its sporting successes have not hidden the fact that Imperia as from 1907 recovered Pieper’s facilities. He invented the Auto-Mixte, the first hybrid vehicle, also called at the time the “petro-electric” engine.

Our sole aim in reviving the brand is to make a similar impression in a highly-specialised and forward-looking field.

Being able to rely on such an eminent past is already a guarantee for the future.

Find out more

Download the brief history of Imperia Automobiles (PDF).

Three books tracing the history of Imperia and the Belgian automotive industry at the beginning of the century are available from the Editions Vieux-Temps website.

Héritage

Imperia Automobiles, un passé riche d'avenir

Pour nouvelle qu'elle soit, la marque Imperia Automobiles a déjà un passé prestigieux. Développée au sein de Green Propulsion, Imperia Automobiles ressuscite le nom d'une société à la fois renommée et Liégeoise qui a connu ses grandes heures dans la 1ère moitié du 20e siècle, et se réclame de ce prestigieux héritage.

Les connaisseurs en automobiles, les aficionados des sports mécaniques et les nostalgiques d'un passé industriel local seront sensibles à notre volonté de rendre du lustre au blason glorieux de ce qui reste la dernière marque de voitures belges.

Imperia. Bon sang ne peut mentir

Entre 1900 et 1950, Imperia écrivit une des plus belles pages de l’histoire de l’automobile belge. La marque connaissait à la fois un succès commercial et sportif. Ses ventes flatteuses étaient en effet accompagnées de succès probants dans différentes épreuves internationales sur route ou sur circuit. Son rapprochement avec Minerva, une autre marque belge, lui permit également d’occuper le créneau des voitures de prestige avec des modèles qui faisaient référence en matière d’élégance et de distinction.

L’innovation comme marque de fabrique

Disposant de son propre circuit autour de son usine de Nessonvaux, Imperia 1ère manière a su faire preuve d’audace et d'innovation pendant les 50 années qu’aura duré son épopée. Ses succès sportifs n’ont pas fait oublier qu’Imperia prenait son essor, dès 1907, dans les ateliers Pieper, inventeur de l’Auto-Mixte, le premier véhicule hybride, aussi appelé à l’époque moteur « pétroléo-électrique ».

En ressuscitant la marque, nous n’avons d’autre objectif que de pareillement marquer les esprits dans un domaine pointu et d’avenir.

Pouvoir s’appuyer sur un passé prestigieux, c’est déjà prendre une garantie pour le futur…

Pour en savoir plus...

Téléchargez le bref historique des automobiles Impéria (PDF).

Trois livres retraçant l'histoire d'Imperia et de l'automobile belge au début du siècle sont disponibles sur le site des Editions Vieux-Temps.